City Sonic 2014 - International Sound Art Festival

11 sept. 2014
OPENING
Park in progress #10

11 sept. 2014
OPENING
Park in progress #10

For this tenth edition, twenty five interdisciplinary artists working the sound in various ways, will be hosted in residency on the former slaughterhouse site to present, for the opening of both festival City Sonic and Park in progress@Mons, a European Night of the young creation.

11 au 27 sept. 2014
FESTIVAL - EXHIBITION
City Sonic #12

11 au 27 sept. 2014
FESTIVAL - EXHIBITION
City Sonic #12

The sound itinerary of this 12th edition will be exclusively dedicated to sound emergencies inviting young Belgian and international artists in residency whose creations will be presented in Mons. Then, workshops, concerts and performances, meetings… will complement the event…

27 sept. 2014
OPENING
Quinzaine Numérique

27 sept. 2014
OPENING
Quinzaine Numérique

The closing of the festival will also be the launch of the Quinzaine Numérique. The opportunity to show the results of our collaborations with the Institute Numediart though the exhibition “Vice versa, from research to media arts”.

  • Bye Bye City Sonic#12

    Twenty five European artists in residence on the site of the old slaughterhouse for the itinerant project Park in progress#10 ; A great European Night of Young Creation during more than three hours with 20 performances, installations, projections and the City Sonic Party grooving till dawn ; Sound emergences works by Arts2, d’ESA Saint-Luc, d’Art Zoyd ; Travelling installations of

    Read more

Editorial

For its twelfth edition, the International Sound Arts festival City Sonic launched in 2003 by Transcultures, Center for digital and sound cultures, in co-production with manège.mons, will exclusively focus on sound emergences, inviting young Belgian and international creators to artistic residencies who will then be broadcasted from Mons on for the first time.

As for the previous edition, City Sonic features the European project Park in progress. Initiated by the Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes, this project is a nomadic innovative event that promotes mobility and encounter between interdisciplinary creators; two dozen interdisciplinary artists from Belgium, Japan, France, UK, Czech Republic, Turkey … working on sound material in different ways, will be welcomed for artistic residencies on the Ancient Abattoirs site where Transcultures is located in Mons.

The result will be show at the festival opening. These art works will then be shown until the end of the festival in the Grande Halle of the Ancient Abattoirs and set the content of the Sounds in progress# 2 exhibition.

City Sonic Channel

Last blog news

11.09 - Openings

11.09 - Openings

City Sonic and Park in progress, the European night of young creation from 18:30 until the end of the night…

12 > 27.09 - Exhibitions

12 > 27.09 - Exhibitions

The City Sonic and Sound in progress exhibitions are open every day from 12 to 18:00 (except on Mondays)…

14.09 - Sonic Garden Party

14.09 - Sonic Garden Party

Afternoon concerts in the private gardens of the Belfry Area…

17.09 - Sonic Kids

17.09 - Sonic Kids

The speaker house: a sound workshop for the ears of the youngsters…

18.09 - Partage d’écoute #1

18.09 - Partage d’écoute #1

Pierre Beloüin proposes a special sound trip from the 80s to nowadays and will lanch the second edition of the Optical Sound Magazine…

24.09 - C2M1

24.09 - C2M1

Media-performance through written and coded languages, from the invention of texting to the coming of the printing press…

25.09 - Partage d’écoute #2

25.09 - Partage d’écoute #2

Cosmopoetics (these ‘astropoetic’ sound art), or the relationship between experimental music and the cosmos.

27.09 - Quinzaine Numérique

27.09 - Quinzaine Numérique

City Sonic Festival closing & Opening of the Quinzaine Numérique@Mons …

Artists

City Sonic 2014, with Park in progress and the opening of the Quinzaine Numérique features more than fifty artists from a dozen different nationalities (Belgian, French, British, Czech, Turkish, Portuguese, Japanese…). Performances, installations, screenings, concerts, exhibitions, meetings … to entertain adults and kids.

Sonic Radio

sonic-radio_City-Sonic_Transcultures-2014Sonic Radio is the radio of the festival City Sonic, that offers interviews, jingles, reports, sound pieces and other sonic surprises… in live during the preparation, the installation and opening of the festival and broadcasted on the website of the festival and through dropouts via indie radio partners.

Hosted this year by Gilles Malatray of DESARTSONNANTS and Zoé Tabourdiot.

Before the opening of the Sonic radio on September the 8th, tickle your ears discovering Transonic artists, the label for over sounds started by Transcultures.

The team

Meet the team

Meet the team

Besides the Transcultures team, many people contribute to the development of City Sonic. Feel free to contact them for more information.

Our last tweets

City-Sonic_Park-in-Progress_2014_Partners_Transcultures

11 sept. 2014
VERNISSAGE
Park in progress #10

11 sept. 2014
VERNISSAGE
Park in progress #10

Pour cette dixième édition, une vingtaine d’artistes interdisciplinaires, travaillant le son de différentes manières, seront accueillis en résidence sur le site des anciens Abattoirs pour y présenter, en ouverture du festival City Sonic, une Nuit européenne de la jeune création sonore.

11 au 27 sept. 2014
FESTIVAL - EXPOSITION
City Sonic #12

11 au 27 sept. 2014
FESTIVAL - EXPOSITION
City Sonic #12

Le parcours sonore de cette édition se consacra exclusivement aux émergences sonores en invitant des jeunes créateurs belges et internationaux en résidences de création qui sont ensuite diffusées en première à Mons. Viendront s’ajouter des workshops, des concerts et des performances…

27 sept. 2014
VERNISSAGE
Quinzaine Numérique

27 sept. 2014
VERNISSAGE
Quinzaine Numérique

La clôture du festival lancera cette 2ème Quinzaine Numérique Mons. L’occasion de montrer les fruits de nos collaborations avec l’Institut de recherche Numediart au travers de l’exposition « Vice versa, from research to media arts ».

Edito

Pour sa douzième édition, le festival des arts sonores City Sonic (initié, en 2003, par Transcultures, Centre des cultures numériques et sonores, en-coproduction avec le manège.mons), se consacre exclusivement aux émergences sonores en invitant des jeunes créateurs belges et internationaux en résidences de création qui sont ensuite diffusées en première à Mons. Comme lors de la précédente édition, City Sonic est associé au projet européen Park in progress – Nuits de la jeune création européenne, dont ce sera la dixième édition.

Initié par les Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes, Park in progress  favorise la mobilité et la rencontre entre des créateurs interdisciplinaires ; une vingtaine d’artistes interdisciplinaires travaillant la matière sonore de différentes manières, seront accueillis en résidence pendant une semaine sur le site des Anciens Abattoirs.

En ouverture du festival, il nous présenteront le résultat de cette résidence au travers d’un programme de courtes créations… Ces oeuvres seront ensuite exposées jusqu’à la fin du festival City Sonic dans la Grande Halle du site des Anciens Abattoirs et constitueront l’exposition Sound in progress #2.

Teaser City Sonic 2014

Teaser Park in Progress 2013

Les dernières news du blog

11.09 - Vernissages

11.09 - Vernissages

City Sonic et Park in progress, la nuit européenne de la jeune création de 18:30 jusqu’au bout de la nuit…

12 > 27.09 - Expositions

12 > 27.09 - Expositions

Les expositions City Sonic et Sound in progress ouvertes tous les jours de 12 à 18h00 (sauf les lundis)…

14.09 - Sonic Garden Party

14.09 - Sonic Garden Party

Concerts d’après-midi dans des des jardins privé du Quartier du Beffroi…

17.09 - Sonic Kids

17.09 - Sonic Kids

La maison haut-parleur : un atelier sonore pour les oreilles en culottes courtes…

18.09 - Partage d’écoute #1

18.09 - Partage d’écoute #1

Pierre Beloüin proposera ses aventures sonores des 80s à aujourd’hui et lancera la seconde édition de la revue Optical Sound…

24.09 - C2M1

24.09 - C2M1

Performance-médias qui traverse les langages écrits et codés, de l’invention de l’écriture au langage SMS en passant par l’avènement de l’imprimerie…

25.09 - Partage d’écoute #2

25.09 - Partage d’écoute #2

Cosmopoetics (ces arts sonores astropoétiques), ou les relations qu’entretiennent les musiques expérimentales et le cosmos.

27.09 - Quinzaine Numérique

27.09 - Quinzaine Numérique

Clôture du Festival et Vernissage de la Quinzaine Numérique Mons…

Les artistes

City Sonic 2014, avec Park in progress et l’ouverture de Quinzaine Numérique, c’est plus de cinquantaine d’artistes à découvrir, une dizaine de nationalités différentes (belges, français, britanniques, tchèques, turques, portugais, japonais…). Performances, installations, projections, concert, expositions, rencontres… pour le plaisir des grands et des tout-petits.

Plan

Sonic Radio

sonic-radio_City-Sonic_Transcultures-2014Sonic Radio c’est la radio du festival qui vous propose des interviews, jingles, comptes-rendus, déambulations et autres surprises sonores de première main réalisés à chaud pendant le montage et l’ouverture du festival et diffusé sur le site web du festival ainsi que via des décrochages de radios indie complices. Animée cette année par Gille Malatray de DESARTSONNANTS et Zoé Tabourdiot.

En attendant, l’ouverture de la Sonic radio le 08 septembre, chatouillez-vous les oreilles en découvrant les artistes de Transonic, le label initié par Transcultures.

L'équipe

Découvrez toute l'équipe

Découvrez toute l'équipe

Outre l’équipe de Transcultures, de nombreuses personnes contribuent à l’élaboration et au bon déroulement de City Sonic. N’hésitez pas à les contacter pour plus d’informations.

Nos derniers tweets

City-Sonic_Park-in-Progress_2014_Partners_Transcultures