Rodolphe Alexis (Fr)

Maison du design

4a, Rue des Sœurs Noires Mons


Fermé les lundis

Flower Bed (nouvelle version)

A carpet of “high speech flowers” replays musical partition of a summer meadow rich with “insects”… electronically generated, curiously close, in their sonority, sowing confusion about the origin and nature of sound.

By a game of reflections and phases, about fifty small transducers are camped on their metal stems. They increase acoustic confusion, creating the audible panorama of a hybrid waste land.

Here, frictions of an ornithopter, and the oscillation of low frequency generator. From the disorder generated by the imitation between the signals of animal origin and those coming from the machines. Our perception questions that which is “alive”.

Production: Transcultures

Rodolphe Alexis

Rodolphe Alexis‘s work borrows forms of electroacoustic composition, performance, radio art and insitu sound installations.

Co-founder of the Sound Art revue “Vibrö/”, he is also member of the electroacoustic duet “OttoannA”, and since ten years, he develops a personal approach to field recording and phonography.

As a conceptual sound designer, he has collaborated with many groups and festivals, artists (directors, fashion designer, musicians and plastic artists, choreographers) and institutions, and contributes regularly to museum projects.

Graduate in philosophy, in anthropology, and audio engineering from the National Audiovisual Institute (INA), he regularly leads workshops for art students in France and abroad (Philharmonie de Paris, ESBA-Talm le Mans, HEAR Mulhouse, Alliance Française de San José, Musashino University Tokyo, UniArts Helsinki, Sibelius Academy…).

He has been published by The Wire tapper, TOUCH Radio, France Culture, ABC Radio, Arte Radio as well as labels such as Framework, Impulsive Habitat, MUDAM, Herbal International, Gruenrekorder.

He played or collaborated with musicians such as Carl Stone, Valérie Vivancos, Aymeric de Tapol, Wind Doors Poplars (w/ Stéphane Rives), Christian Zanési, Kassel Jaeger, Phil Niblock, Haruo Okada, Hiroki Sasajima, Aki Onda, Marcos Fernandes, Tokyo Phonographers Union, Hideki Umezawa, Pali Meursault, Yasuhiro Morinaga, Jean-Philippe Renoult, Dinahbird…